we boost power

Did you know that there’s a lot of high tech in toilet tissue?

The Business Area Tissue stands for innovative converting and packaging machines for hygiene tissue products.

Processing wood into tissue paper is a complex technological procedure. However, using complex machines to transform big jumbo reels of tissue paper into the form of high-quality napkins or toilet tissue is real high tech. The machines perform many work steps to manufacture the finished product. They unwind, print, emboss, rewind, fold, cut, wrap and bundle within seconds and fully automatically. Körber Tissue supplies the machines that do all this.

A trendsetter for hygiene tissue paper

Continuous innovation and a systematic orientation to customer requirements make this Business Area the technology and market leader in its industry. Körber Tissue offers customized solutions for markets all over the world. That’s because the requirements placed on hygiene tissue paper vary greatly between different countries. Some people like it soft, while others prefer a bit more texture. Some prefer tissue paper from a roll, others like it folded. Still others like to have it colored or scented. The machines from Körber Tissue provide the right products to fulfill every requirement. That’s not a matter of chance: About seven percent of sales are invested in research and development. Which is one reason why the Business Area holds more than 1,000 international patents.

The following brands are part of the Business Area Tissue:

  • Fabio Perini is the leading supplier of converting machines and services in the tissue industry.
  • MTC is the technology leader for folded hygiene tissue paper, such as facial, hand towel and napkins.
  • Casmatic supplies packaging machines.
  • Engraving Solutions offers finished product innovation and embossing rolls.
  • Sheer is the specialist for hygiene tissue products and packaging on the Asian market and the very entry level segment

Our goal is to reshape the future of the industry so that we can grow together with our customers.

Antonio Mosca, Chief Digital Officer Business Area Tissue

Lucca, Italy: The Tissue Valley

Founded in 1966 as Fabio Perini and acquired by Körber in 1993, the Business Area Tissue employs experts at eight production locations in North and South America, Europe, and Asia. The sector’s hotspot is Lucca, Italy, which is also known as “Tissue Valley.” This is where Körber Tissue opened its Tomorrow Lab in the summer of 2018. In this innovation hub, specialists are exploring the opportunities offered by digitization, in line with the concept of Industry 4.0. “Our goal is to reshape the future of the industry so that we can grow together with our customers,” says CDO Antonio Mosca, who is responsible for digitization at the Business Area.

The Tomorrow Lab is a unique establishment: an open innovation hub for sharing knowledge and collaborating with suppliers, young companies (start-ups), universities, and institutions.

Everything in its proper place: Körber Tissue supplies machinery for the entire production range.
Making an impression: On the engraved printing rolls, napkins and other paper products are embossed with patterns.

Digital Tissue™ as an innovation driver

Körber Tissue made a quantum leap in 2015 when it launched “Constellation™” an intelligent production machine and line that offers previously unknown possibilities for customization. This production line from Fabio Perini independently analyzes all process and production parameters, sends the data to a computer, and provides adjustments during ongoing operations. The entire production line is managed from one control room. The result is hygiene tissue product of a consistently high quality. It even has a name of its own: Digital Tissue™.

Related Content

Wir geben Schub

Wussten Sie, dass in Toilettenpapier viel Hightech steckt?

Das Körber-Geschäftsfeld Tissue bietet innovative Verarbeitungs- und Verpackungsmaschinen für Hygienepapiere.

Die Verarbeitung von Holz zu Hygienepapier ist technologisch anspruchsvoll. So richtig Hightech wird es, wenn komplexe Maschinen riesige Hygienepapierrollen in edle Servietten oder hochwertiges Toilettenpapier verwandeln. Bis zum fertigen Produkt übernehmen die Maschinen viele Arbeitsschritte: Sie rollen ab, bedrucken, prägen, rollen auf, falten, schneiden, wickeln und bündeln – alles in Sekundenschnelle und vollautomatisch. Die Anlagen dafür liefert Körber Tissue.

Trendsetter bei Hygienepapier

Ausgeprägte Innovationskraft und die konsequente Orientierung am Kundenbedarf machen das Geschäftsfeld zum Technologie- und Marktführer seiner Branche. Körber Tissue bietet maßgeschneiderte Lösungen für Märkte weltweit. Denn die Ansprüche an Hygienepapier sind international sehr unterschiedlich. Die einen mögen es weich, die anderen etwas rauer. Manche bevorzugen Papier von der Rolle, andere gefaltet. Wieder andere wollen es bunt oder parfümiert. Für sämtliche Anforderungen bieten die Maschinen von Körber Tissue die passenden Lösungen. Das kommt nicht von ungefähr: Rund sieben Prozent des Umsatzes werden in Forschung und Entwicklung investiert. Auch deshalb hält das Geschäftsfeld mehr als 1.000 internationale Patente.

Folgende Marken gehören zum Geschäftsfeld Körber Tissue:

  • Fabio Perini - der führende Anbieter von Verarbeitungsmaschinen und Services im Tissue-Bereich.
  • MTC - Technologieführer für gefaltetes Hygienepapier, etwa Kosmetiktücher, Handtücher und Servietten.
  • Casmatic liefert Verpackungsanlagen.
  • Engraving Solutions bietet fertige Produktinnovation und Prägerollen.
  • Sheer ist der Spezialist für Hygienepapiere und Verpackungen auf dem asiatischen Markt und im Einstiegssegment.

Unser Ziel ist es, die Zukunft der Branche neu zu gestalten, um gemeinsam mit unseren Kunden zu wachsen.

Antonio Mosca, Chief Digital Officer Geschäftsfeld Tissue

Lucca in Italien: Das Tissue-Valley

1966 als Fabio Perini gegründet und 1993 von Körber übernommen, beschäftigt das Geschäftsfeld Körber Tissue Experten an acht Produktionsstandorten in Süd- und Nordamerika, Europa und Asien. Der Hotspot ist das italienische Lucca – das so genannte Tissue-Valley. Hier eröffnete Körber Tissue im Sommer 2018 sein Tomorrow Lab. In diesem Innovationshub loten Spezialisten die Möglichkeiten der Digitalisierung aus – Stichwort Industrie 4.0. „Unser Ziel ist es, die Zukunft der Branche aktiv zu gestalten, um gemeinsam mit unseren Kunden zu wachsen“, sagt CDO Antonio Mosca, der im Geschäftsfeld die Digitalisierung verantwortet.

Das Tomorrow Lab ist eine einzigartige Einrichtung: ein offener Innovationshub zum Austausch von Wissen und zur Zusammenarbeit mit Lieferanten, jungen Unternehmen (Start-ups), Universitäten und Institutionen.

Alles am richtigen Platz: Körber Tissue liefert Anlagen für die gesamte Produktionspalette.
Eindruck hinterlassen: Auf den Gravurwalzen werden Servietten oder anderes Papier mit Mustern geprägt.

Digital Tissue™ als Innovationstreiber

Ein Quantensprung gelang Körber Tissue 2015 mit der Constellation™, einer intelligenten Produktionsmaschine und -linie, die bislang ungekannte Möglichkeiten der Individualisierung bietet. Diese Produktionslinie von Fabio Perini analysiert selbständig sämtliche Prozess- und Produktionsparameter, schickt die Daten an einen Computer und justiert im laufenden Betrieb nach. Die gesamte Linie wird von einem Leitstand aus geführt. Das Ergebnis ist Hygienepapier von konstant hoher Qualität. Es hat sogar einen eigenen Namen: Digital Tissue™.

Leseempfehlungen